Job 11 Long Documents

I’m sorry to have missed posting last week and contributing to the conversation.

I’ve struggled with some of our assignments and assembling/formatting the book was not an exception! But, I took the course with the hope of opening myself to new learning and opportunities. I was thrilled to see the power of the book assembly and hope I have a chance to work on a similar project soon so I can keep working on understanding it.   I visited family for the holiday week and in conversations mentioned this course…when asked how/why it was different than using Word (if they only knew!) it was fun to have the book assignment as a reference point…I could point to printed materials in the room and comment like I was a pro on how it might have been assembled using InDesign.

I think this relates…I recently ran into articles about DocsFlow. It is apparently a plug-in that can make google docs talk to InDesign.   Collaborators can edit via a shared google doc and an associated InDesign document updates simultaneously (and vice-versa).   Our school district is in the process of migrating to google apps and I’m trying to stay ahead of new possibilities for myself and other office staff.   Have any of you used DocsFlow? Thanks, gh

1 comment
  1. Glad to hear that you are more aware of the designs around you and you are thinking out how things are put together this will all help you in your own creations!